Oh Look, Another Protest

Phil-Robertson-Duck-Commander

Christians need to chill

I don’t watch Duck Dynasty … mainly because I don’t have cable. I’ve seen the show maybe four times. From what I’ve seen, I like the show, but not enough to watch back episodes online. Still, I appreciate the clean humor, the focus on family, and the faith each family member boldly professes.

The Robertson family is not shy about their love for Jesus. And that’s awesome. They have a right to be heard, just as any other show on TV has a right to be heard. Some times controversial things are said and done, which creates a “war zone.” Christians rally against non-Christians, who in turn rally against Christians whenever one side says something or does something the other side finds offensive. But we’re going to have times of offense, especially when two opposite sides are given the freedom to speak their minds.

This is one of the great things about America. Though I don’t always agree with everything that’s said within our culture, I do value the fact that our country gives the freedom of speech to its citizens. Everyone has a right to be heard, because each voice represents a person that needs to be acknowledged.

Therefore, it matters greatly how Christians respond when being offended, and when we offend others. In both situations, I believe Jesus calls us to be the one who seeks to make amends with the opposing side – either by seeking forgiveness or choosing not to be offended.

When situations arise (like the one involving Phil Robertson and his remarks), I think Christians need to take a deep breath, chill out, and remember that God still sits on His throne and remains sovereign. It’s not our job to defend Him; nor are we to make appeals through protesting and boycotting the things/people who have offended us. Our job is to represent Christ by imitating His character. Our job is to respond differently than the world around us.

The Comment

This is Phil’s controversial comment about homosexuality: “It seems like, to me, a v****a—as a man—would be more desirable than a man’s a****. That’s just me. I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.”

As one who deals with same-sex attractions, and is a happily married man, I found Phil’s comments to be offensive. Wesley Hill stated my reaction well, “The conclusion to draw from [Phil's] comment, as Katelyn Beaty noted earlier today on Twitter, is ‘that gay men should just wake up to how awesome women’s body parts are.’ But, of course, that’s just not how sexuality works.” If only it were that simple. If only we could deduce a very real and trying struggle for hundreds of Christian men and women to such simple logic. But we can’t, and we should not!

Though I believe with Phil that gay sex is a sin, the truth is, his comment is spoken out of ignorance. And when Christians say they support everything Phil has said, without exception, they too speak out of ignorance. It is this blind ignorance that the gay community and so many other people are upset with. Sexuality at times is deep and complex. Some issues in life cannot be solved with a simple cut and paste answer.

In saying that I believe Phil spoke out of ignorance, I do not believe he hates gay people. Here’s another quote from the same article: “We never, ever judge someone on who’s going to heaven, hell. That’s the Almighty’s job. We just love ’em, give ’em the good news about Jesus—whether they’re homosexuals, drunks, terrorists. We let God sort ’em out later, you see what I’m saying?” And in his response to the outcry over the article, Phil says: ” … I would never treat anyone with disrespect just because they are different from me. We are all created by the Almighty and like Him, I love all of humanity. We would all be better off if we loved God and loved each other.”

The Response

The only other words I would add to Phil’s response would be, “I’m sorry for any offense.”

Saying “I’m sorry,” doesn’t mean that you are selling out. It doesn’t mean you are apologizing for God’s word. It doesn’t mean you are being forced to put away your Christian values; nor does it mean that your Christian faith and “rights” are being attacked.

Saying “I’m sorry,” eases the tension. It opens communication. It lets the offended person know you did not mean to offend them in the way that you did.

The gay community is made up of real people, with real emotions. When interacting with or confronted by someone who has same-sex attractions, we should be quick to listen and slow to speak (react): What is really being said? Why are they saying this? How does God want me to respond? In fact, maybe we should take this approach anytime we talk with people when the conversation is tense … even more, when we truly don’t understand the fullness of the topic being discussed.

The non-Christian world won’t magically submit to Christian ideals and values. In fact, Jesus tells us things will get worse, that we will face unfair treatment*, and even be put to death for our faith (see John 16:33, 15:20). In response to this trouble, Jesus does not say, “Start a Facebook group in protest,” or “Boycott this company,” or anything like these ideas. Rather, Christ calls us to live for Him despite what others say; He says to pray for those who don’t understand and ridicule us; He says to love those who we find to be unlovable (see Matthew 5:11-12, 44, Romans 12:14). He calls us to be a light in the darkness (Matthew 5:14).

May we ever be reminded the words of Christ: “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another” (John 13:34-35, emphasis added). I love this quote from Tozer, “There is a glorified Man on the right hand of the Majesty in heaven faithfully representing us there … let us faithfully represent Him here.”

In this with you,
Shawn

*By the way, real persecution is being beheaded, killed, tortured, arrested, etc. for your faith. Phil Robertson being benched from TV, or people not agreeing with our Christian values, is not persecution. Unless we are being killed because of our evident love for Jesus, then we have nothing to complain about.

16 responses to “Oh Look, Another Protest

  1. Thanks for posting Shawn. I think people are blindly supporting a dude that they have elevated into an icon because of shared beliefs, however If I had said what he did on television while representing my employer, I would EXPECT to be fired/suspended next day.

  2. I agree with you, Shawn, though I’ve just decided to (mostly) stay out of the fray. I will miss Phil on the show because he’s funny and maybe the most level-headed of them all. I appreciate your thoughts.

    • Thanks, Dan.

      If Phil is as popular as people say, I doubt the show will go on without him. And I’m sure another network will pick them up, if A&E cancels the whole thing.

      In the end, God wins and their faith stories will still be heard. I’ve watched their testimonies on “I am second,” great stuff.

  3. God is in control and He should be our focus. We do need to be kind and loving. I take exception to the idea that only death constitutes persecution. There is greater persecution of Christians than ever before; we are to expect it. But saying only death qualifies as grounds for notice stuns me. It is real on many levels, it will increase, and it is God’s plan. But we are to pray for those who endure for the sake of Christ. All of them.

    • Thanks for your comment, Nicey. I didn’t mean to imply that only death counts as persecution – though I did list other things that counted, too. But I do hope we, as Christians, understand what counts, and what doesn’t count, as persecution. Some things may be a push back on our faith, but they don’t necessarily count as being persecuted (imo).

  4. I am afraid that I must disagree with your blog. Christians have been “chilling out” for far too long and look where that has gotten us as a nation. God’s word is offensive to those who do not believe and the reaction from the GLAAD is to be expected. If we, as Christian people, do not stand alongside those who have the courage to speak truth from the Bible (calling homosexuality, adultery, drunkenness, etc a sin-gasp!), then we should be ashamed of ourselves. I certainly would not stand by and allow someone or a group of people to blast my sister or children or loved ones, would you? So why would I not stand alongside my Christian brothers or sisters if what they are saying is truth from God’s word? Just my 2 cents :)

  5. Shawn, I appreciate your words. Here is where the real test of Christianity is found. What do we do when offended? When things are said unfairly or we are maligned, misunderstood, or called names? Jesus says, “pray for your enemies…” “blessed are you when they cast insults are you… on account of Me? Rejoice and be glad, for great is your reward in heaven”. I agree, it is not persecution, but here is another example where the lines get drawn and sides are taken. I too have not commented on this though I have real opinions and a stance. But I also have gay friends. Gay friends who are part of church. Gay friends I care about and in building my relationship with them the last thing I want them to do is lump me in a perception of all those who hate them. I don’t understand it and I am don’t have it all figured out how to fully stand in truth yet love just as fully. I too believe God’s word that gay sex is not His design for humans. I do also that disagreement is not discrimination. Because I love you but do not agree with a lifestyle does not mean I am discriminating against you. Discrimination is when people in power limit and suppress the freedom and opportunity of a group of people. Some of the most successful people I know are of the gay community. But I cannot put myself in their world and say what they feel or have experienced. So I won’t… ever. I told a gay friend, who was asking everyone who didn’t fully accept and support his lifestyle to defriend him, that I would never defriend him but agreement is not the basis of relationship. LOVE is. He could defriend me, but I will not even though my beliefs are different. When I expressed love, our relationship grew. I have been able to enter into his world like never before and ask the real questions and seek his heart. It’s been a good thing. I too agree that we need to chill. If believing something takes away an opportunity, then that is a consequence of walking the faith. I do not believe this will be the end of the Robertson’s even if DD goes away. They are more than a show. They are a family. Love them or hate them, God is greater and we need to remember that when we want to draw our lines and forget to love. “They will know you are MY disciples by the love you have for one another…..”

  6. Pingback: Moving Beyond the Duck Hunt. | Six:11 Ministries·

  7. Pingback: Where do we go from here?MinistryPlace.Net | MinistryPlace.Net·

  8. Pingback: Six:11 Ministries·

  9. Pingback: Top 10 for 2013 | Six:11 Ministries·

  10. Thoughtful post. I agree that we need to love others, even our enemies. The question I have is this: If pointing out that man is a sinner and that all of us are “born that way” is offensive to someone else, then what shall we do? Do we simply stay quiet, because the message of the gospel (all men are sinners and they are born that way and the only solution is Jesus Christ) is offensive? I’m kind of confused here. Si is attractive to people. Man’s nature is sinful. Straight men are attracted to women that are not their wives. Yet, we know that fornication and adultery are sinful. What shall we say then to the man that wants to fool around on the side behind his wife’s back, or to the couple that wants to simply live together? I’m not really understanding what you mean by saying we need to “chill out”. You mention that we should represent Christ and try to imitate his character. But Christ was pretty offensive to those that rejected him.. so much so that they wanted to crucify him. When Christ called them whitewashed sepulchres, I would assume they were very offended at that. These were men who thought they loved God as much as anyone could. But they were wrong. Christ pointed it out, and it enraged them.

Share your thoughts

