Being Gay is not the Sin

only_Jesus 2

How’s that for a bold statement?

While the title of this post may be messing with your mind (and even your theology), this post from my friend Peter Ould is a must read. Reprinted below, Peter’s post explains an important message, one that I’ve written in my book and what I’ve been trying to help churches understand. Christianity does not equal heterosexuality. God is after so much more than that. Peter writes …

One thing that I have noticed amongst men who seek to change their homosexuality is that often they feel that the church will see them as somehow inferior if they “stay gay”. The attempt to “repair” one’s sexuality then becomes less about trying to function in a way that the church approves of and more to do with being able to fit in with or conform to an assumed “better” way of being. If one then fails to “change” having accepted this basis for trying to change, one has to either alter one’s view on same-sex behaviour or somehow admit that you have not arrived where you need to be as a Christian.

I think this is the main failure of the ex-gay movement, that in defining “success” as a change in sexual attractions, it has created a generation of men who failed in what they set out to accomplish and in doing so had to reconcile that failure, often by embracing same-sex activity as a good and right thing. Once the straw man has been shown to be fragile, often the rest of the Christian structure comes down with it.

Here’s the thing though, what’s wrong with being homosexual, or same-sex attracted, or gay, or whatever you want to call it? Seriously, what’s wrong with it? Why do you need to change? Don’t get me wrong here – I’m not in the slightest bit advocating same-sex behaviour, far from it, but simply being attracted to someone of the same sex, why is that a problem? So what?

Let me let you into a secret – you don’t have to change. Really, you don’t. I mean, you might change, but you don’t have to. As you stand here today in all your attracted to people of the same-sex glory, there is nothing wrong with you, nothing that makes you worse than the man who sits down next to you in the pew with the throng of girls around him, nothing that makes God see you as anything less than any other Christian.

But, I hear you ask, what will happen to me if I don’t change? How will I have a fulfilling life if I don’t end up with a sexual partner, if I don’t have someone to share my emotional life with? Listen to yourself! Look at the other single people in your church. Are they inferior to the couples? Does God think any less of them? Is there something spiritual inadequate about them because they are nothooked up with someone? Is celibacy a second-rate choice? Are the other singles better than you because they are straight? Have you even read 1 Corinthians 7:7?

Why do you need to change? Will you be a better person? Will God love you more? None of these things automatically happen just because you are “straight”. Really, they don’t. God loves all Christians just the same because the same Jesus died for each and every one of them and imputed his same righteousness into each and every one of them. Sanctification isn’t dependent on sexuality (though it might very well be dependent on sexual practice) and if you think it is, please point out the bit in God’s Word where he says it is.

I know in my journey that it was only when I stopped trying to change, when I realised that God wasn’t going to think any less of me simply for being homosexual (though he might have a few things to say about sex outside of the marriage of a man and a woman), that it didn’t, shouldn’t limit me in ministry and Christian life, it was only then when I chose just to live for God and not other people’s (or my own) expectations, only then that I actually started to change. It was only when I let go of the idea that I would be better if my sexuality was different that God finally had the space to do with my sexual identity what he wanted. Before then I had been trying to satisfy myself, afterwards, when I was trying to satisfy God (realising that being straight wouldn’t make him any “happier” with me) that I became open to the changes in my life and thinking that happened and led me to where I am today.

Friends, we live in such an open and accepting time in Western culture, for better and for worse. Almost one of the last places where people feel uncomfortable being same-sex attracted and having other people know it is the Church. It shouldn’t be that way. The Church should be the place of acceptance, not of what we do (because some of the things we do are wrong and need to be identified as such) but of who we are and what we feel. And that should be the same for anyone LGB or whatever. You don’t need to be straight to be in the right place. You don’t need to change your sexuality to fit in. You don’t need to repair anything to have a better spiritual life. Jesus takes us all, warts and flaws and imperfections and wonky desires and everything. He takes us and makes us into what he wants, and when we realise that we are defined by what he thinks of us, not what we what others think of us, then that prepares us for the greatest change of all – being shaped into what He wants us to be.

To read Peter’s full post, click here.

6 responses to “Being Gay is not the Sin

  1. Can you explain what God meant in 1Cor 6:9 I think it is…when the Bible clearly says…neither liars, nor thieves, nor homosexuals or adulterers shall enter the kingdom of heaven. (loosely translated)

    • You have two words here translated as one – “homosexuals”.

      Arsenokoites literally means “man who beds man”. There is some ambiguity about what it means in practice and I’ve explored some of it here – http://www.peter-ould.net/2009/07/12/sexuality-and-slavery-part-three/

      Malakoi literally means “soft” and is a more ambiguous term. I explore it here – http://www.peter-ould.net/2009/09/01/sexuality-and-slavery-part-four/

      I think what Paul is trying to cover here are two types of men – first, those who engage in same-sex activity (aresenokoites). Secondly, those who try to subvert their masculinity (malakoi)..

    • Hi Kay,
      Here is also my write-up on 1 Corinthians 6:9-11.

      Peter’s article – which I fully support, makes a difference between actions and attractions. The Scriptures attack the actions, namely pursuing a same-sex relationship. Some people cannot help who they are attracted to, and the evangelical Church needs to understand this, and not force certain expectations upon such people. While we are all definitely called to control our attractions through the work of the Holy Spirit, our attractions are not in and of themselves a sin.

  2. Thanks for answering Shawn. I completely agree that it is acting on same sex attraction that is the sin not having the attraction. All sex outside of marriage is a sin …..sex isn’t a sin….outside of marriage it is. The choices are single and celibate or married (one man, one woman).

Share your thoughts

