power of testimony.

I know it’s been awhile since I lasted posted on here – my apologies for that. A few weekends ago, I attended a prayer conference in Ohio. The speaker for the weekend, spoke about the power of prayer, the power of healing, and the power of our testimony. Needless to say, GOD stretched my level of faith in HUGE ways.

I’m sure we could all spend hours talking about the aspects of healing, the theology that surrounds it, and the questions that stir from this ‘hot topic’. And I’m sure we could equally discuss the levels of faith we each have; and how these levels seems to change based upon our position between the mountain and valley. Instead I want to talk about our testimony.

I have always believed that our testimony is powerful – full of “GOD-power”. I also have always believed that each one of us has a testimony, regardless of how we became a Christian. From the one who states, “I have always been a Christian” to the one who states, “I’ve been saved from the depths of hell”, if we are a Christian we have a testimony to share – because this principle rings true for all who are in CHRIST: we once were counted dead, but now we’re counted alive (Romans 6:23).

What is a testimony? In simple terms, it’s a GOD-story with untamed energy. Testimony’s proclaim the Glory of GOD, they tell of one’s journey from death to life, and they display the power of the Universe-Creator. Testimony’s rock – and if actually used, they can pin darkness down victoriously.

Now I’m sure this sounds like ‘super-Christian’ jargon, but as silly as it may sound, this is truth: the power of one’s testimony is a valuable weapon. I love how Revelation 12:11 speaks about this idea of one’s testimony being a weapon:

They overcame him (Satan) by the blood of the Lamb (JESUS), and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.

Recently, our church has been going through some trials and arguments – mainly dealing with GOD’S Word and homosexuality. At both meetings, I have chosen to stand and speak forth my testimony – what I know to be true. I have received many compliments, and I respond in the same manner: PRAISE GOD. My story is no more horrific than the next person’s. Yes it’s different and involves different situations; but the same power my story holds the next person’s story holds. So the focus shouldn’t be, who has the best story to share, but rather, who has the guts to share their story.

I’ll admit, I haven’t always been open to sharing my story – especially with those in the church. I was intimidated by man, and how man would reject me (or accept me) because of my testimony. In fact, it wasn’t until 2004 that I finally starting sharing my story in church interviews, applications, and with the church body. Again, I wasn’t ashamed of what GOD had brought me through, or what HE had done, but I was afraid of being rejected because I was from a ‘worser’ sin than most.

Though I have been finding quite the opposite happening. The more I am willing to forsake my own comfort and trust GOD, the more opportunities I have to share the Glory of what HE’S done … the more acceptance I am finding within the church body … the more powerful my faith has become. All of these experiences have sealed in me the belief that our testimony holds power – GOD-power. And HE’S waiting for each of us to tap into this truth.

Psalm 40 puts it this way:

I waited patiently for the LORD;
he turned to me and heard my cry.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock

and gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear
and put their trust in the LORD.

Check out that last part: many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD. Why? Because when we allow ourselves to be vessels of GOD’S Glory, strange things like revival begin. When we proclaim what GOD has done in and through us, people catch a hold of that and the Kingdom of GOD comes near; the salvation of CHRIST reaches beyond our imagination.

Our stories should never be far from our lips, nor far from our hearts. The message we have within us should be the message that Glorifies HIM who has given us such a message. May the LORD continue to rise up gutsy story-tellers …

One response to “power of testimony.

  1. Man. What a story.

    Tonight you’ve inspired me. And encouraged me. And without knowing it, kicked me in the rear.

    Me, fancying myself a storyteller, have yet to tell my full testimony. Online or otherwise. I think I’m going to have to do something about that. Psalm 40 has always kicked my butt, reminding me of the power of testimony as a weapon, and yet I’ve done nothing.

    I think I need to get started on it right away. Thanks for the encouraging words tonight. You’ve reminded me that this a bloody battle at times, and that we’re to run to the battle, not shirk from it.

    Thanks, brother.

Share your thoughts

