intimacy.pt.2.

I will praise YOU, O LORD, with all my heart; before the “gods” I will sing YOUR praise.

I will bow down toward YOUR holy temple and will praise YOUR name for YOUR love and YOUR faithfulness, for YOU have exalted above all things YOUR name and YOUR word.

When I called, YOU answered me; YOU made me bold and stouthearted.

Nearing the end of my time in the prayer room, I read psalm 138, and I was drawn to the words “YOU” in the first three lines. Powerful. Do I fully understand this message, I thought. Do I really comprehend what David is saying here? And, more importantly, do I agree with what’s being said here? Continuing on with where I left off from the last post about intimacy …

as i walked home [that] night from the prayer room, i had another thought in mind, “what idols do i adore more than HIM?” truth be told, i have idols in my life – i have other gods that i cling to in certain times of the day. so what am i going to do with them? how intimate am i going to be with them? i am created to be a lover and a worshipper … but not a lover and worshipper of many gods, but only one GOD.

I began thinking back to the first Commandment: You should have no other gods but ME (Exodus 20). Period. GOD doesn’t even give us an option of the possibility of choosing another god to worship or hold on to. No other gods. None. Period. So knowing that I have known idols in my life, psalm 138 verse 1 hits me pretty hard.

Again, David writes: before the “gods” I will sing YOUR praise. David isn’t hiding from GOD the truth that he does in fact have other gods/idols in his life – GOD knows it, and David knows GOD knows. So instead of hiding what is already known, David comes clean and basically says, ‘Yeah GOD I have other gods I tend to worship throughout the day’. But David goes on to also say, that in spite of these other gods, he will choose to sing the praises of Jehovah GOD – the One True GOD – only … and only HIM. David makes it clear which GOD was going to get his praise: Jehovah.

When we are faced with our own idols and gods, whom do you bow to worship: them or Jehovah?  Whom do we desire more: them or Jehovah?  What makes our hearts beat faster: them or Jehovah?  When you are before your gods, will you choose to bow before them, or will you tell them off by praising your true GOD Jehovah?

Intimacy with GOD.  How bad do I really want it?

But the man who loves GOD is known by GOD.  1 Corinthians 8:3

Come near to GOD and HE will come near to you.  James 4:8 // Return to ME, and I will return to you.  Malachi 3:7

For I know the plans I have for you“, declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon ME and come and pray to ME, and I will listen to you.  You will seek ME and find ME when you seek ME with all your heartI will be found by you,” declares the LORD.  Jeremiah 29:11-14

What other gods that we daily entertain have ever made us a promise like the one above?  What other gods have ever satisfied our life completely, that we’ve gone to them and said, ‘Thanks … I’m full now’.  What other gods have ever made us feel truly alive … ever made us feel that life was worth living for … ever feel that you were worth some much more than what you’ve been giving yourself credit for?  What other gods have made you whole?

None.  None other than Jehovah.  So what are we really waiting for?  What’s stopping us from enjoying those intimate times with HIM?  HE’S made the promises to be there … we just need to RSVP … ASAP.

Share your thoughts

