speaking up for silence.

Around this time last year, the national Day of Silence happened.  In conjunction with it, The Golden Rule Pledge was also started.  I wrote about both here.

Today is the Day of Silence and The Golden Rule Pledge.  While we clearly state through the ministry of six11 that practicing homosexuality is wrong, we also agree that mistreatment and discrimination against gays and lesbians – especially students – is wrong too.

six11 is committed to showing and proclaiming the full message of JESUS, in which truth and grace are lived out and embraced – for all, no matter what.

May the unjust silence of those being discriminated against finally be heard, and may the truth of the gospel finally be seen and experienced by all.

golden-rule-pledge-blue

Facebook group

Article from the Washington Post

More info about Golden Rule Pledge


5 responses to “speaking up for silence.

  1. Thanks for this post man. We a Christians really need to understand how to live with the LGBT community. And promote that all are treated as human beings. I hope things are going well.

  2. Hi Shawn,

    I am wondering, if you had not had all the negative programming growing up, about how bad or “sinful” it was to be born gay, and instead had a positive accepting upbringing, do you think you would have not felt so bad and would have not put yourself through the “exgay” model, potentially having a fulfilling life living your primal template of being homosexual?

    Are you gay or bisexual when looking at your developmental years say up to age 20? And if bisexual, is your attraction equal sexually towards men and women? Where does that percentage fall naturally if applicable?

    I know you don’t like the label, but it does seem you are living an exgay lifestyle. I like your openness and candor, I wish more in your camp were so resilient and info helpful.

    • Hey Dave,

      Thanks for commenting. I don’t have much time to answer, but I did want to respond back quick.

      I had both a negative and positive “spiritual” response to my homosexuality while growing up actually. I was agnostic before accepting CHRIST; but even after accepting HIM I still struggled big time with being gay. Though I did receive some pretty harsh treatment from Christians, I also received some from the gay Christians as well. My decision to finally walk away, was my own and wasn’t really driven from any one elses. Of course I play out in my head those “Well, what if …” scenarios, but honestly, I’m happy where I am in life right now.

      As for my developmental years …. though I tried dating girls, and even having sex with girls … my mind was fixated on men. That is my struggle even still. I don’t think I was bi … I have my own theories about bi’s (hahaha) … so, to me, I was gay. I can count on one hand the girls that I have dated … I won’t give a number for the men. I don’t say this too brag, but to say, I was in the lifestyle … I was there wholeheartedly.

      The reason I don’t like labels is because for me that’s putting a restriction on who I am striving to be – GOD’S. I have spent a long time trying to find myself – so to say – and I have finally come to a place where I know (I KNOW) who I am: I am GOD’S son. That’s the only label I want and need.

      Thanks again for your comments man.

  3. Good fast recap.

    I come from the point of view that sin is nothing more than lack of love not to be punished but a mistake to be corrected.

    So being gay is no different than being straight, one simply has the job of loving the self instead of hating and judging (correction of the mistake / sin of judging and hating) It think it’s the biggest challenge there is.

    Whether it’s our hair, or our nose or our legs job love life people or whatever rejection we choose to focus on, it’s kinda pick your own poison, and gay would fit right in.

    I asked you the questions because I find that most of the ex gay kinds of people who call gay sex a sin, come from strong backgrounds of religion. I really don’t like the exgay term either, because it really doesn’t say anything. I think there are alot of gays who are anti gay (and some don’t even know it), so gay-anti-gay fits more to how I see exgay’s actions.

    Seing as gay was barely talked about when I was growing up, I’m looking at where some feel the need to change ones sexual engaging comes from. It’s really pretty fascinating. Product of environment seems to be a very high factor.

    I also beleive in past lives and I think alot of folks have come in to try and accept their sexuality the way they are, as it can be such a confusion from past lives of being the victim (sexually abused emotionally by church or people in general) or being the predator (ones who condemn others for being gay). I think we all play all parts which creates the world of drama and polarity we live in, far from our true home. It’s rather candid and show worthy I must say and exceptionally entertaining.

    I can’t really tell if you grew up with a stong religious background with negs about sexuality in your world. Can you clarify that?

    I really liked your last words where you said you know you are God’s Son. That was very heartwarming. I too am in the sonship right along with you Shawn.

    David

  4. Sorry for the delay Dave.

    To answer your question, here’s the basis of my religious background:

    i grew up in an Irish Catholic home where we went to church on holidays mostly. I was an altar boy (and no, nothing ever happened) … though I really didn’t know GOD or understand HIM. HE was just there and I was just here.

    The word gay was only brought up in jokes or slang, other than that my family never talked about it. When I came out to my parents, they didn’t bash me or condemn me – in fact they really were mute on my outing because they themselves didn’t really know how to deal with it.

    The only backlash I got, from a religious point, were from Christians in my high school. Then as I continued on in my journey – after coming to CHRIST and starting to leave the gay life – things got tense and I began to learn the whole debate about being gay and what GOD says (and doesn’t say) about it.

    It was through this learning process, and self discovery (along with counseling and prayer) that I came to the understanding that my life was headed in the wrong direction – on many accounts. I began finding freedom from problems in my life – beyond my struggles with SSA – when I began seeking after GOD’S identity for me, rather than my own.

    I firmly believe this brings about true freedom that we all long for, in whatever struggles we deal with – physical, mental, and sexual.

    Shawn

Share your thoughts

