Forgotten God / pg.37

Our small group is going through Francis Chan’s newest book, Forgotten God.  So I thought I would share some of his thoughts about us (the Church) and God’s Spirit.

Chan makes the claim that the Church (American Church) has put aside the other third of the Deity: the Holy Spirit.  I totally agree with him.  As I’m sure many other Christians would, too.  We talk a lot about God and Jesus, but we neglect to talk about the Spirit – who is of God, like Jesus is of God.  Chan forces us to face up to our mistake of forgetting the Spirit, and pleads the Church to not only remember Him but to walk in His fullness – TODAY.

On page 37, Francis makes this awesome connection between caterpillars and Spirit-filled people.

As believers, we ought to experience this same kind of astonishment when the Holy Spirit enters our bodies.  We should be stunned in disbelief over becoming a “new creation” with the Spirit living in us.  As the caterpillar finds its new ability to fly, we should be thrilled over our Spirit-empowered ability to live differently and faithfully.  Isn’t this what the Scriptures speak of?  Isn’t this what we’ve all been longing for?

I want to live so that I am truly submitted to the Spirit’s leading on a daily basis.  Christ said it is better for us that the Spirit came, and I want to live like I know that is true.  I don’t want to keep crawling (like a caterpillar) when I have the ability to fly (as a butterfly).

So, this begs the question – to you and to me – are we such Christians that crawl or do we fly?

Are we not new creations that are Spirit-filled?  Do we live as such?

Share your thoughts

