Learning Time Management as a Spiritual Discipline.

I waste time.

I have as long as I can remember.  I love to be on time for things, but 95% of the time, I’m late (and anyone who travels with me).  I really do strive to be on time.  And I have no real good excuse as to why I’m late, other than to say that in the midst of trying to be on time for things, I allow more-important-things to hold me up.

This problem of mine carries over into my walk with Jesus.

It’s not that I waste my time with Jesus; rather it’s I don’t spend adequate time with Him because I’m wasting it on other (less important) things.  In the end, all I am left with are good intentions.  But, I’m at a point where I want more than that – I NEED more than that.  I mean, seriously, this is ridiculous.

David Crowder sings:

I’m so bored of little gods
While standing on the edge of something large
While standing here, so close to You

“How Great”, Illuminate (cd)

And he is so right.  I’m tired of all these less-important-little-gods following me around, consuming my time, and keeping me distracted from what I truly want to spend time doing: being with Jesus, being with my family, and being devoted to the relationships and lives around me.

I decided I was going to read the entire Bible this year from Genesis to Revelation.  I started January 5, and I’m just now finishing up chapter 36 … of Genesis!  {It’s taken me a month to read 36 chapters … P-A-T-H-E-T-I-C!}  Anyways, this morning I was reading about Jacob taking his family back into Bethel (the place where God first appeared to Jacob, and he had his “ladder-dream”).  Chapter 35:2-4 says this about the event:

So Jacob said to his household and to all who were with him, “Put away the foreign gods that are among you and purify yourselves and change your garments. Then let us arise and go up to Bethel, so that I may make there an altar to the God who answers me in the day of my distress and has been with me wherever I have gone.” So they gave to Jacob all the foreign gods that they had, and the rings that were in their ears. Jacob hid them under the terebinth tree that was near Shechem.

(Genesis 35:2-4 ESV)

Jacob had been following God for some time now.  He understood who God was, especially having encountered Him personally more than once.  So, why was his family holding onto foreign gods?  Better yet, why had Jacob been allowing his family to possess other gods?  Whatever the reason, the sojourning family was holding onto less-important gods, while trying to follow the One True God.  And before they could go any further, Jacob called them on the carpet, and made them hand over their worthless idols.  Now scripture doesn’t give the tone or the expression of the people handing over their idols, but I’m sure they weren’t thrilled to do so.  I’m willing to bet that some people got angry at Jacob’s command … maybe some one cursed or threw a fit.  Let’s face it, giving up stuff that we like to do – even the “bad-stuff” – isn’t fun to do.  However, there are times in our life when we must lay certain things down in order to receive something greater.  This is especially true for things that, in the end, only bring us harm.

The people handed over their idols to Jacob, who then in turns buries them, and calls for everyone to purify themselves before the Lord (simply meaning, devote yourselves back to following God and His ways).  From there, Jacob and his household move onto Bethel, and then eventually Hebron.

My point is this: the people were called on the carpet to hand over their idols in order to experience the bigger-blessing God had for them.  Today, God is calling me on the carpet as well.  I’ve been holding onto this idol of “wasting time” for too long, and today, God is asking me to hand it over.  So here I go …

I want to learn time management as a spiritual discipline. I want to focus my time and energies on things that matter and not on things that are mindless.

This is not to say that doing “mindless things” (like Facebooking) are wrong and dangerous to do.  Sometimes we do need to just do nothing in order to relax.  But, for me, doing these things has caused me to spend less time with God and more time with my computer.  To me, this is wrong, and it needs to be changed – NOW.

So … starting this Sunday AM to next Sunday PM, I am quitting a few idols that have been consuming wasting my time:

  • FACEBOOK
  • TWITTER
  • ANGRY BIRDS
  • YOUTUBE

I know the fast from these things isn’t long, but I truly hope it’s a starting point.  My prayer is that this week, I begin to learn time management and apply what I learn, so that these things aren’t idols to me anymore — they’re just something fun to do when I’ve done everything else that I needed to do.  And, if perchance, these things continue to be idols for me, then I need to bury them (quite doing them/using them).

Who knows what God will teach me – or ask of me – this week, but I’m excited to find out!

[Side note, I found this awesome blog post a little bit ago about spiritual dryness and how to get out of it.  This goes well with my attempt to learn the spiritual discipline of time management!]

6 responses to “Learning Time Management as a Spiritual Discipline.

  1. In my heart, I know facebook can be a waste of my time, but I’ll give up Twitter and Angry Birds (as well as a few other iPhone games). You’re right on the money with this post. My iPhone has been a god to me in the recent past and I need to get with it.

    • Thanks for your honesty and encouragement, Dan.

      I think, when used correctly, Facebook (and even Twitter) can be used for great purposes – I’ve experienced this many times. But when these things become “gods” … its a different story.

  2. So proud of you. I’m excited to see what HE has in store for you this week also. I will follow your lead and not watch meaningless shows and go to bed at a decent time. Reason, cause I can’t deal with people when I have a lack of sleep including my kids. Love you~

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Learning Time Management as a Spiritual Discipline. « Six:11 Ministries -- Topsy.com·

  4. Pingback: Technology vs. Relationships « Raising A Generation·

Share your thoughts

