My Radical Month 1

A little over a month ago, my wife and I decided to take on “The Radical Experiment.”  I wrote about it here.  In the post I mentioned I would record the things my wife and I were learning along the way.

So what have I learned a month into this Radical Experiment?  Three things: I’m too busy, I’m easily distracted, and I fall short of my commitments too many times.  This past month has sucked for us in regards to fulfilling our commitment to praying and reading our bible.  There is no excuse; we didn’t consider the weight of the commitment being made.  We jumped into it thinking, “Oh, this will be good.  We can do this.”

We were wrong.

I’m ashamed to write this, but it’s way better than sugar-coating everything and smiling – right?  So where do we go from here, but up.  Emily and I aren’t quitting what we’ve started.  We had a bad month, but we still have 11 more months ahead of us.  See, I don’t think the goal is to get every month picture-perfect, but to press on despite the setbacks.  God is after our authenticity – in relation to Him and each other; He’s after people whose desire to know Him is stronger than then the desire to give up.  Yes, we may get side tracked, but we “want to know Christ and the power of His resurrection” in our lives (Philippians 3:10).  We’re not satisfied where we are.  We want to keep moving; so, we are – one step at a time.

To get involved with The Radical Experiment yourself, go here.

4 responses to “My Radical Month 1

  1. I want you to know that I will be praying for you and your wife as you allow God to radically use you – however he sees fit. God bless you both as you take this journey together!

    (p.s., I have recently read David Platt’s book, Radical, and there is just so much to take in that I want to re-read it 🙂

    • Thanks so much Lucille! Radical is a great book, and more it’s a great challenge to all Christians. What were your thoughts about the book?

  2. Shawn,
    I thoroughly enjoyed the book and I agree that it is a challenge to all Christians. I don’t agree w/everything David Platt wrote, however, the theme of the book is “spot on.” Christians in America, for the most part, have become lazy, spoiled, and most of all, comfortable. (Not all Christians, of course, but a great many of us). My husband and I had the priviledge of going on a mission trip to Zelenograd, Russia, and I know from that experience that American churches are missing the mark. I believe it is time for the church in America to start being the church and stop being a social gathering place….(getting off my soapbox now;) I, like many other Americans, am radical about lots of things (think Ohio State football:) but I have been challenged to ask myself, “am Ijust as radical for Jesus?”

Share your thoughts

