When Depression Strikes

waiting-on-god

Can I just say, “Depression sucks!”

For me, it’s not a question of “if” depression will strike, but “when.” This is just a reality I face. Since I was a teen, I’ve been depressed, though only six years ago did I finally seek help. When it hits, nothing seems right and I’m lost in a zone. Over the years, though, I’ve learned some ways to manage my depression – beyond Prozac. I’ve learned the truth that God’s character does not rest upon my mood swings. He remains faithful and loving, even when I could care less about Him. In these times, God’s grace covers everything, and His right hand is there to lift me up, again. My depression doesn’t mean that I have lost hope in life, I know God is faithful. It’s not that I’ve given up, I know God’s will is better than my own. I doubt at times, but my faith is grounded. I want to shut everything out, but He refuses to leave.

Sometimes my depression is a daily venture, and sometimes it’s every other month. Still, whenever depression strikes, I strive to remind myself of the promises of God. They help defeat the negative thoughts that Satan speaks, and they help hold me up when all I want to do is sleep away my life. The promises of God are a firm foundation to rest upon; they are truth that defeats the world around me; they are breathes of life that keep my heart beating.

I hold fast to the promises of God, because they are the best remedy that keeps my depression tamed. It’s not that I don’t need my Prozac each day, I do. However, the promises of God are better than Prozac. Where one aides my mind, the other aides my heart, mind, and being.

At the end of the day, God is greater than all I need to sustain me and want out of life. This isn’t wishful thinking; it’s the truth that saves me.

Below are some promises God has spoken over us, through His word. Read them, and live within their truth.

God will deliver you

For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself.Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again. 2 Corinthians 1:8-10

Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the LORD, which He will work for you today … The LORD will fight for you, and you have only to be silent. Exodus 14:13-14

… so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you. Be strong and courageous … Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:5, 6, 9

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

I waited patiently for the Lord; He inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. Psalm 40:1-2

He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the Kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. Colossians 1:13-14

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for His own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light. Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy. 1 Peter 2:9-10

God will sustain you

Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; He will never permit the righteous to be moved. Psalm 55:22

But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

I have said these things to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28-29

Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior … because you are precious in My eyes, and honored, and I love you … Isaiah 43:1-4

… do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together. Colossians 1:17

God is your hope

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through Him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. Romans 5:1-5

Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself, and God our Father, who loved us and gave us eternal comfort and good hope through grace, comfort your hearts and establish them in every good work and word. 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17

… and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. Hebrews 10:21-23

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to His great mercy, He has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you … 1 Peter 1:3-4

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will hear you. You will seek Me and find Me, when you seek Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord … Jeremiah 29:11-13

ROMANS 8 (one of the greatest chapters in all of scripture)

God loves you

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are … Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when He appears we shall be like Him, because we shall see Him as He is. And everyone who thus hopes in Him purifies himself as He is pure. 1 John 3:1-3

And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God. Galatians 4:6-7

… but God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God,who loved me and gave Himself for me. Galatians 2:20

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved … Ephesians 2:4-5

The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by His love; He will exult over you with loud singing. Zephaniah 3:17

But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness. Psalm 86:15

As the Father has loved Me, so have I loved you. Abide in My love. John 15:9

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:37-39

7 responses to “When Depression Strikes

  1. Man, excellent thoughts! I really appreciate what you do here. Telling folks not just about depression, but giving real live answers through scripture about it makes the difference. Well done! I’m going to keep this one handy. While I don’t usually suffer from deep depression, I do struggle sometimes. I hope this will help. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: THE LORD WILL STRENGTHEN YOU TO ESCAPE THE PRISON GATE | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM·

  3. Pingback: Prayer points for your husband’s peace, sound mind and judgment | Bummyla·

  4. Pingback: Faith Building Reflections | Jesus Carries Me·

  5. Pingback: The Lord fights for his people | daily meditation·

  6. Pingback: Kevin Breel: Confessions of a Depressed Comic | Six:11 Ministries·

Share your thoughts

