Praying “Lay Me Down” by Chris Tomlin

This is not a new or unfamiliar song. Hundreds of people listen to it, and even sing it Sunday mornings. Maybe you’re like me, and you sing along at the top of your lungs while driving or in the office.

This past weekend, though, instead of signing this song to Christ with all my heart, I began praying this to Christ with all my life. Without being labeled “super-spiritual” here, I’m tired of laying things down to Christ, only to pick them back up again and pretend everything is OK between us. I want to actually be a living sacrifice laying down everything upon the altar, day and night, praying that I don’t move until He tells me. Will this be a fight and a chore? Yes!! But He is a risk I want to engage, and a way I want to wrap around – more & more.

So, using Tomlin’s words mixed with my own, here is what I’m bringing before God, each day:

With this heart open wide,
From the depths of who I am
I will be a sacrifice.

With these hands lifted high,
Hear my song & cry for mercy
I will be a sacrifice

I lay me down
I’m not my own
I belong to You alone.

I’m laying down everything,
Hands upon my heart
There’s no life apart from You,
I’m laying down.

Letting go of my pride 
Giving up all my rights
Take this life & let it shine 
Let it shine for Your glory.

I lay me down
I’m not my own
I belong to You alone.

It will be my joy to say: Your will, Your way.

My life upon the altar
Hands lifted in surrender
There’s no life apart from You,
Your will, Your way,
I lay me down.

3 responses to “Praying “Lay Me Down” by Chris Tomlin

  1. Pingback: If at all you can sing : IMPACT LIVES! | ofsol·

  2. Pingback: Songs & Scripture: “Lay Me Down” (Chris Tomlin, Jason Ingram, Jonas Myrin, and Matt Redman) | Like Incense·

  3. Pingback: Songs & Scripture: “Lay Me Down” (Chris Tomlin, Jason Ingram, Jonas Myrin, and Matt Redman) – Worship with Scripture·

Share your thoughts

