Anxiety and the Lord’s Prayer

prayer unanswered

I found this post on Shay Osborne’s blog. He shares some personal prayers on confronting anxiety with the Lord’s prayer:

“Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your name.”
Father, forgive me for be anxious about my future and not trusting your goodness. So many times, instead of trusting you plans, I trust only in myself. Father, thank you for loving me as a compassionate daddy. Help me to know that you are working for my good as a good father does for his child. Thank you for adopting me into your family. Because of the cross I know that I am fully accepted by you and free from anxiety.

Your Kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”
Lord forgive me for living for my kingdom instead of your kingdom. I accumulate stuff for security and comfort. Lord, help me to trust that you have given me everything I need to live for your kingdom. Forgive me for using what you have given me for building my kingdom and not investing in the lives of others. Because of the cross I can find my security in comfort in Jesus and am free to be generous with my time and money for you kingdom.

Give us this day our daily bread”
Jesus forgive me for not looking to you as my supply. Instead I often trust my own resources for my security. Thank you for always taking care of my needs. Help me to trust that you are enough for me. That you are my supply. Because of the cross I can find my rest in you and am free from trying to control my circumstances.

And forgive us out debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” 
Father forgive my for seeing people and relationships as resources to provide me with security. This leads me to be easily disappointed when others let me down and to use people to meet my needs. I am covetous of what others have and am quick to compare my resources to the resources of others. Help me to view others as you do, not as a means to an end but as sheep in need of a shepherd. Because of the cross I am free from finding my security in people and am able to love others unconditionally.

and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.”
Lord, forgive my for thinking that abstaining from anxiety will produce righteousness. This leads me to try to control my circumstances and escape for stressful situations. Instead, help me to love you more than I love my comforts. Give me the grace to find my hope in you rather than in my own power and abilities. It is you, and you alone, who is worthy of my focus and able to set me free from unbiblical ways of thinking. Because of the cross I can stop just trying to out will my sin and can find freedom in Christ.

For your is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever. Amen.”
Lord, all I have is yours. Any resources, any abilities, any influence I have has been given to me for your glory. Forgive me for my lack of trust in your goodness and my desires to use what you have given me to serve myself. Help me to see your power and your goodness as I seek your kingdom today. Because of the cross I can approach with confidence the God who is all powerful and able to meet my every need.

Thank you Jesus.

Share your thoughts

